BOARD OF REGENTS MINUTES OF THE MEETING March 1, 2016

Contents

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA	23-24
NSU PRESIDENTAL SEARCH COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP	24; 27-28
DAKOTA STATE UNIVERSITY RESIDENCE HALL/STUDENT SERVICES SPACE – FACILITY DESIGN PLAN	24-25; 29-42
2016 SDLTAP JOINT POWERS AGREEMENT	25; 43-74
ADJOURN	26; 75

BOARD OF REGENTS MINUTES OF THE MEETING Board of Regents Central Office (Teleconference) Pierre, South Dakota March 1, 2016

The Board of Regents convened by teleconference at 8:00 a.m. (central time)/7:00 a.m. (mountain time) on March 1, 2016 with the following members in attendance when the initial roll was called:

ROLL CALL:

Randy Schaefer – PRESENT Bob Sutton – PRESENT Terry Baloun – PRESENT John Bastian – PRESENT Harvey Jewett – PRESENT Kathryn Johnson –PRESENT Joe Schartz – ABSENT Kevin Schieffer – ABSENT Jim Morgan – ABSENT

Also present were Mike Rush, Executive Director and CEO; Monte Kramer, System Vice President of Finance and Administration; Guilherme Costa, General Counsel, Janelle Toman, Director of Communications; Molly Weisgram, System Director of Student Affairs and Executive Administrative Assistant to the CEO and Board; and other members of the regental system, public at-large, and media.

Regent President Randy Schaefer called the public meeting of the Board of Regents to order and declared a quorum present. Regents Schartz and Schieffer joined the meeting after the initial roll call.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

IT WAS MOVED by Regent Bastian, seconded by Regent Johnson to approve the agenda with the addition of a Legislative Update.

ROLL CALL:

Schaefer – AYE Sutton – AYE Baloun – AYE Bastian – AYE Jewett – AYE Johnson – AYE Morgan – ABSENT Schartz – AYE Schieffer – ABSENT

The MOTION CARRIED.

NSU PRESIDENTIAL SEARCH COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

Regent Harvey Jewett explained that NSU President James Smith plans to leave his post as president as of June 21, 2016 to assume the role of president at Eastern Michigan University. As a result, the Board solicited nominations from Northern State University constituent leaders for individuals to serve on the NSU Presidential Search Committee.

IT WAS MOVED by Regent Jewett, seconded by Regent Baloun to approve the following members of the NSU Presidential Search Committee:

Faculty: Erin Fouberg, Sara Schmidt Administration: Debbi Bumpous Professional Staff: Susan Bostian Civil Service: Judy Lapka Students: Taylor Ellingson, Ian Coughlin Community: Arthur Russo, Rodney Fouberg Alumni: Mike Evans NSU Foundation: James Thares At-Large: Cindi Walsh, Rodney Tobin System President: James Abbott

ROLL CALL:

Schaefer – AYE Sutton – AYE Baloun – AYE Bastian – AYE Jewett – AYE Johnson – AYE Morgan – ABSENT Schartz – AYE Schieffer – ABSENT

The MOTION CARRIED.

A copy or the NSU Presidential Search Committee Membership can be found on pages $\underline{27}$ to $\underline{28}$ of the official minutes.

DSU RESIDENCE HALL BUILDING APPROVAL

Dr. Monte Kramer, system Vice President of Business and Administration, provided an overview of the DSU residence hall building proposal.

IT WAS MOVED by Regent Jewett, seconded by Regent Schieffer to approve DSU's Facility Design Plan to renovate the former Madison Community Hospital into a Student Housing and Support Services space at an estimated cost of \$7,420,357. Funding for this renovation project

will come from \$7,000,000 in bond proceeds debt serviced by rent revenues from the new facility plus \$420,357 from DSU's Higher Education Facilities Fund allocation dollars for the Learning Engagement Center portion of the project.

ROLL CALL:

Schaefer – AYE Sutton – AYE Baloun – AYE Bastian – AYE Jewett – AYE Johnson – AYE Morgan – ABSENT Schartz – AYE Schieffer – AYE

The MOTION CARRIED.

A copy of the DSU Residence Hall Building Approval can be found on pages $\underline{29}$ to $\underline{42}$ of the official minutes.

JOINT POWERS AGREEMENT BETWEEN SDSU AND SD DOT

Mr. Nathan Lukkes, system Associate Vice President of Research and Economic Development, explained the partnership between SDSU and SD DOT and overviewed their proposed joint powers agreement.

IT WAS MOVED by Regent Johnson, seconded by Regent Schartz to grant the Executive Director the authority to execute the 2016 SDLTAP Joint Powers Agreement in substantially similar form to that set forth in Attachment I.

ROLL CALL:

Schaefer – AYE Sutton – AYE Baloun – AYE Bastian – AYE Jewett – AYE Johnson – AYE Morgan – ABSENT Schartz – AYE Schieffer – AYE

The MOTION CARRIED.

A copy of the Joint Powers Agreement between SDSU and DOT can be found on pages $\underline{43}$ to $\underline{75}$ of the official minutes.

ADJOURN

IT WAS MOVED by Regent Baloun, seconded by Regent Schartz to adjourn the meeting of the full Board at 8:25 a.m.

ROLL CALL:

Schaefer – AYE Sutton – AYE Baloun – AYE Bastian – AYE Jewett – AYE Johnson – AYE Morgan – ABSENT Schartz – AYE Schieffer – AYE

The MOTION CARRIED. Meeting adjourned.

The South Dakota Board of Regents adjourned its special business meeting on March 1, 2016 and will meet again in regular session on March 30-April 1, 2016 in Rapid City, South Dakota.

I, Mike Rush, Executive Director and CEO of the South Dakota Board of Regents, declare that the above is a true, complete and correct copy of the minutes of the Board of Regents meeting held on March 1, 2016.

Mike Rush

Mike Rush Executive Director and CEO