## SOUTH DAKOTA BOARD OF REGENTS

## **Budget and Finance**

## AGENDA ITEM: 7 – A DATE: October 4-5, 2023

## **SUBJECT**

Dakota State University Applied Research Corporation (DSU-ARC) Annual Meeting

## **CONTROLLING STATUTE, RULE, OR POLICY**

SDCL ch 5-29 – Research Parks

### **BACKGROUND / DISCUSSION**

This meeting serves as the time and place for the DSU-ARC annual meeting. The annual meeting is when the Board appoints directors to the Board of Directors of DSU-ARC. The current makeup of the Board of Directors is set forth in Attachment I. The current makeup of the Board of Directors is the initial Board of Directors appointed to one-year terms pursuant to the bylaws of DSU-ARC. Per the bylaws, "[a]fter the initial one-year term for all directors, as close to as possible equal proportions of Directors shall be appointed to a one (1) year term; a two (2) year term and a three (3) year term, so that there are staggered terms."

The Board of Directors recommends and requests that Sara Venhuizen and Miles Beacom be reappointed to serve three-year terms, that Nathan Lukkes and Jose-Marie Griffiths be reappointed to serve two-year terms, and that Andrea Thompson be reappointed to a oneyear term. This will result in five board members, which is within the 5-9 member range permitted by the bylaws.

## IMPACT AND RECOMMENDATION

The Board of Directors recommends and requests that the Member (BOR) take the following actions:

- Reappoint Sara Venhuizen and Miles Beacom to serve three-year terms on the Board of Directors of DSU-ARC;
- Reappoint Nathan Lukkes and Jose-Marie Griffiths to serve two-year terms on the Board of Directors of DSU-ARC; and
- Reappoint Andrea Thompson to serve a one-year term on the Board of Directors of DSU-ARC.

Staff recommends approval.

### ATTACHMENTS

Attachment I - DSU-ARC Board of Directors

#### 

## **DRAFT MOTION 20231004\_7-A:**

I move to reappoint Sara Venhuizen and Miles Beacom to serve three-year terms, Nathan Lukkes and Jose-Marie Griffiths to serve two-year terms, and Andrea Thompson to serve a one-year term on the Board of Directors of DSU-ARC.

# DSU-ARC Board of Directors

DSU-ARC Board Member	Term Expires:
Sara Venhuizen	2023
Miles Beacom	2023
Nathan Lukkes	2023
Dr. Griffiths	2023
Andrea Thompson	2023