SOUTH DAKOTA BOARD OF REGENTS

Budget and Finance

AGENDA ITEM: 9 – A (3) DATE: June 21-22, 2023

SUBJECT

USD Discovery District Annual Meeting

CONTROLLING STATUTE, RULE, OR POLICY

SDCL chapter 5-29 – Research Parks

BACKGROUND / DISCUSSION

The Board's June meeting serves as the time and place for the USD Research Park, Inc. (dba USD Discovery District) annual meeting. The annual meeting is when the Board appoints directors to the Board of Directors of the USD Discovery District. The current makeup of the Board of Directors is set forth in Attachment I. There are four terms set to expire in 2023, which are currently occupied by Deb Peters, Jim Abbott, Bob Sutton and David Kapaska. The Board of Directors recommends, and requests Deb Peters and James Abbott be reappointed, and Nathan Peterson and Matt Michels be appointed for 3-year terms to fill the vacancies caused by the expired terms of Bob Sutton and David Kapaska, both of which are term limited. Nathan Peterson is an Executive Vice President at Sanford Health and Matt Michels is outside counsel for Avera and former Lieutenant Governor.

IMPACT AND RECOMMENDATION

The Board of Directors recommends and requests the Member (BOR) take the following action:

 Reappoint Deb Peters and Jim Abbott, and Appoint Nathan Peterson and Matt Michels, all to serve three-year terms on the Board of Directors of the USD Discovery District.

ATTACHMENTS

Attachment I – USD Discovery District Board of Directors

DRAFT MOTION 20230621 9-A(3):

I move to reappoint Deb Peters and Jim Abbot, and appoint Nathan Peterson and Matt Michels, all to serve three-year terms on the Board of Directors of the USD Discovery District.



2023 Board of Directors

3 Year Term – Expires 2025

Regent Tim Rave, SD BOR – 1st term Michelle Bruhn, Sanford – 1st term Bobbie Tibbetts, Bender Commercial – 1st term

3 Year Term - Expires 2024

Paul TenHaken, City of Sioux Falls – 2nd term Kim Patrick, Ret. Sanford – 2nd term Mark Mickelson, Mickelson & Company – 1st term

3 Year Term – Expires 2023

Deb Peters, Pinnacle Adviser – 2nd term Jim Abbott, USD President Emeritus – 1st term David Kapaska – 3rd term Bob Sutton, Avera – 3rd Term

Ex-Officio, Voting

Sheila Gestring, Chair, University of South Dakota Nathan Lukkes, SD BOR

Ex-Officio, Non-Voting

Sioux Falls Development Foundation President/CEO, Bob Mundt
USD Sioux Falls, Jay Perry
USD Dean of Beacom School of Business, Vacant
USD GEAR Center Director, Dan Engebretson
South Dakota Board of Regents General Counsel, Vacant
South Dakota Governor's Office of Economic Development, Vacant

Updated: 8-Jun-23